Zoot Ultra Kalani and Kane Run Shoe 2010

I am a fan of Zoot Shoes. The Kalani is my 4th pair of Zoot shoes and I have to say that I love this shoe. Ideally this shoe should be used as a high mileage trainer. However for me it has been more pratical to wear them every day and run in them as well. There will be a lot of people who say that I’m killing my shoes, I agree. However I can’t help it because these are likely the most comfortable shoes I’ve had next to the Zoot Ultra Speeds. The upper on these shoes is so soft and comfortable, it’s like wearing a sock. The only reason I’m wearing these every day instead of the Zoot Ultra Speed is because the Speeds are racing flats and they will wear out much more quickly.  I’ve probably only done about 50-80 miles of running in these shoes so far and have to say that I love them. I’m pretty sure I’ve walked over 200 miles in them.

The only difference between the Kane (grey) and Kalani (blue) beside the color is the sole. The Kane is designed to be a stability high mileage trainer and the Kalani is designed to be a high mileage neutral trainer. To find out more just click on the following links to be taken to OneTri.com for the specs:

Kalani (click here) – There is another video of the Kalani on this link.

Kane (click here) – There is another video of the Kane on this link.

Here’s a 360 degree video of my Kalani on my feet. I think they’ve held up pretty well for what I’ve put them through.:

About GearReviewer

I enjoy writing about triathlon equipment because gear enhances the experience of training and racing. Triathlon gear is an extension of ourselves when we race and train. It makes the overall experience more pleasing when you have the right gear for your event.

3 Responses to “Zoot Ultra Kalani and Kane Run Shoe 2010”

  1. These are really awesome run shoes! I’ve been training with my Kalanis for over half a year, and haven’t had a problem since.

  2. are they waterproof?

    • They aren’t waterproof. They have a “spandexy” porous upper. Unlike some of the other Zoot “racing” styles this one doesn’t have drainage holes on the bottom of the shoe. I like that because water won’t creep up from the bottom when running on wet grass or surfaces.

Leave a Reply

